Who we are


Sathiko Sath consists of two foundations, together constituting one whole: Sathiko Sath Nederland en Sathiko Sath Nepal.

Sathiko Sath Netherlands. This organization defines strategy, facilitates and supervises. It was founded on 4 March 2009 and has the ANBI-status, which means it is a government registered charity.

Sathiko Sath Nepal. This organization’s tasks are mainly executive. It was founded in November 2009, representing the parents and composed of parents. It is listed with the District Administration Office as a Non-Governmental Organization and is registered with the Social Welfare Council of Nepal. On this basis, the foundation is acknowledged by the Nepalese government and is therefore exempt from taxes and other contributions required by law.

Sathiko Sath strives to achieve a balanced representation of men and women on the Nepalese board.

Both foundations have their own boards and annual financial statements.


The board of Sathiko Sath Netherlands consists of:
Chairman: Charles van Voorst Vader
Vice-chairman: Hilde Noë
Secretary: Elizabeth Verkuil
Treasurer: Jantine Bouma
Member: Taco Remmers
Member: Irene van Elten

Founder/advisor: Frans van Meerwijk

    CvVV, HN, EV, TR, JB, IvE and FvM

All Dutch board members operate on a voluntary basis and receive no remuneration for their activities.
At least once a year, one or more members of the Dutch board are in Nepal to attend Nepalese board meetings and carry out further monitoring tasks.

The board of Sathiko Sath Nepal consists of nine members, chosen from our children’s parents:

Mr. Raj Kumar (Raju) Gurung / Mrs. Khaisung Tamang / Mrs. Laxmi Shrestha
Mr. Sattar Sing (Supa) Tamang (President) / Mr. Lal Kumar Shrestha (Secretary) / Mr. Tulshi Bahadur Ruchal (Chandra) Magar (Vice President)
Mr. Kam Dawa Sherpa / Mrs. Kamal Sayangtang (Treasurer) / Mr. Himalaya Raj (Himal) Ghimire

All Nepalese board members operate on a voluntary basis. They only receive an allowance for travel and telephone expenses.
Sathiko Sath Nepal holds a General Assembly annually in the presence of all the children’s parents. At the General Assembly, the annual accounts of Sathiko Sath Nepal are determined.
Our people in Nepal, without them the hostels would not be there.

Caretaker, Uncle: Ratna Kaji Dangol / Caretaker, Auntie: Reba / Advisor: Basu Dev Neupane